top of page

Editing eyes - The basic video edits of Astounding Cameron

Youtube... what a magical platform.


Created in 2005, this platform has skyrocketed in popularity within it's 15 years of life (still not legal yet, but the internet will no doubt make fanart like they did with Google). With this creation brought on an absolute metric tonne of content! You go back to the first videos of not only when Youtube was released, but of your favourite youtubers and see what they were making.


Nostalgia time for you. Remember the days where horror rpgs were at the height of popularity? You'd see Jacksepticeye, Pewdiepie, Luigikidgaming, Markiplier, all the ogs and so many more covering them. Remember the golden Era of Minecraft, SkyTheKidRS, ASFJerome, DanTDM at his height, and so many more coming onto the platform.


Before you notice, yes, those are all gaming channels. I was a child (and technically an adult) who found gaming channels much more interesting than most others. I have watched other content, and do watch a variety, but for a good binge session, I always head back to games.


While my experience with making content wasn't exactly gaming, it's been fun either way.


If you don't know already (or just don't want to scroll down on the main page, fair play), I do actually have my own Youtube channel I attempted to keep afloat. While I don't post as often, or have a set genre, I did enjoy editing what I made. It was funnily the editing that got me into it, as actually making the content felt forced quite a bit of the time. It did help when I got others involved though, so that made it nicer.


Although I stopped working on mine, I do still edit for a different channel. The name?




Astounding Cameron!


This small corner of the internet populated with content made simply because it's interesting, Cameron way of making content is simple, but effective (at times).


A bit of backstory how this all happened:


I met Cameron in college (after finally getting the guts to talk to him, cause anti-social). We oddly hit it off really well and ended up chatting whenever the situation occurred before COVID shut the schools. We ended up chatting online afterwards, even making content for his previous channel (before that got... erased by somebody, no names).


In order to combat this, in September, when he got his mojo back, I offered to help him out with editing and the like to build his channel back up. He said yes, and since then we've made content almost every day.


Like.... seriously...




This is on my harddrive of edited videos, and there's still more on there.


As of right now, we've reached 66 subs (one more six and it's satanic). Honestly, while my editing style is still pretty simple, I honestly enjoy doing it. Both of us are learning how to get through this, with me editing wise and Cameron content wise. He's actually got a recording schedule now (hurrah!) and will hopefully stick to it.


Over these past few months, it's been a learning journey. How to edit, what content to put out, how to present ourselves. The format has changed, but the people stayed the same. New look for the channel, some stuff made by Zak (if you see this, thanks for that dude) and just some overall funny memories.


I've actually helped pick some of the videos, as well as given some improvement tips while I've been editing. When I learn something new, I do actually ask Cameron to view it first, just to make sure it's appropriate. While we're still doing our own stuff, we do work as a team to keep this afloat.


Right now, his content is mainly vlogs. He talks about certain topics that are relevant, or what he feels is interesting. Games, he's decided, will be on a different channel. Once his room is all sorted and a PC set up, he'll be good to go. For now though, any games that aren't No Man's Sky are usually recorded on my laptop and played by me. Usually one offs, but still fun either way.


So... plans for the future of Astounding Cameron?


Just keep making content. Do what we feel and keep learning how to do stuff. Get more resources in to over lay and use, as well as pick up tricks of the trade and make new friends. It's all about the experience and the progress rather than just the being at the top.


We know we're not Dream, or Techno, or even Pewdiepie. We have our own charm, and we just gotta work harder on showing that through. Learning is the first step to that. In a lockdown, having this as a regular activity day to day has honestly helped me to stay sane.


When you finally read this Cam, thanks so much for this experience! Let's keep the channel going and learn together!


-R (18/02/2021)


Link to Cameron's channel too (might as well link back to this) - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCPLpQAJnacm20eW8FoXTtsA


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Social Norms - Communication at its finest

Now you might be thinking...."Oh god, not another thing about communication" and you'd be right to think so. I already did about dialects, and that was an odd spur of the moment even for me. Ironicall

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page