top of page

Review time - Darling Duality

To begin this, here's a link to check out the game yourself. It's $2 and before I even start writing about it, it's a worthwhile purchase for those who're into darker visual novels - https://melancholy-marionette.itch.io/darling-duality-winter-wish


Now, I'm pretty familiar with Melancholy Marionette's visual novels (I utterly adored Solipsism Reigns, but I'll give my review on that another day), and I decided to go back and check on their itch.io page. Lo and behold, I spot another game, one costing $2 (less than £2 in my own currency), and the description for it simply dragged me in... like the others.


They advertise this as being able to choose between a "Sweet or Sinister" partner, which automatically gives off Yandere/darker vibes, which as I've been growing up have found more fascinating in visual novels. The screenshots used are also very tempting to be drawn into, their art style and facial expressions on point.


For the purposes of this, and to avoid as many spoilers as possible, I'm gonna be using their screenshots for the most part of this, while only taking one or two on my end of anything that fully stands out to me.


I will also say, there are two versions - A full version and a safe version. While I'll mainly be talking about the full version, I have played both just to see the minor differences.



-A mini story overview for those who haven't played it yet: You (gender neutral, great call there) are playing a visual novel, and are currently on the route of a character you don't feel is your favourite. Castor/Castoria (Depending on what gender you choose) suddenly appears to you out of nowhere, only wishing you as much happiness as they can give you. Whether it be sweet or sinister is up to you.





Storytelling


While it's short due to it being made within 2 weeks or so, the storytelling for the frame of time is honestly very engaging. The switch between scenes isn't rushed and there's a lot to see and hear within the story. It being set within one location also makes it more realistic, as if the scenario could happen (in our dreams of course). Having Castor/Castoria being sentient as well as their reactions being more predictable is a nice touch too. It allows for players to still keep that surreal feeling.


When it comes to the endings, I did feel that the full version's sweet ending did feel shorter than the sinister, but that could be me. I honestly enjoyed both of them...while making a list of what Castor/Castoria shouldn't be doing in my home. The attention to small details, plus where we'd be vs where Castor/ia is positioned is just a nice touch.


The Yandere scenes flowed really well too, especially with the sinister ending and how much Castor/ia tries to prove themselves to the MC. It's a short story, but it's one done right and left open to future developments if chosen to do so. Overall, it's a nice balance.


Characters


While there's only two (The main character and Cator/ia), they were honestly made really well. It's one of those games where I can't actually insert myself into the MC's shoes, but I enjoy judging how they react to situations.


In this case, I really wanted to throw hands with how they treated Castor/ia to begin with!


They were downright rude to call them plain to their face, even if they didn't like their route. I might be bias because those are the types of characters I go for (slight bit of yandere and all), but even with ones I don't particularly go for I try to keep an open mind.


Speaking of characters, can I just say how much I loved both Castor and Castoria! They're cute, they're caring and their voices fit them perfectly! I'm honestly amazed that not only are they voiced acted, but the amount of emotion that's been put into it to bring them alive. But, back on track, they're honestly so refreshing to see, especially with it being focused on just them.


While I tend to go for the male love interest routes, I did also look down Castoria's just to see the voicing differences and any little bits, happy to note I enjoyed both male and female equally! Their yandere was on point, good mix of obsession and romance (I don't have an issue, promise), and it left me wanting to see how far they'd truly go for their mortality.


If a character makes me stop every so often just to talk to the screen, then you know it's done right. The route took a lot longer than it should cause I kept pausing to commentate on what he says and putting my own answers in.


Audio and Visual


The audio and visual for this are clean as anything. The music fits all the scenes so well, while not being too overpowering to take away from the experience. It's like if you have a boss battle, but the music and boss balance perfectly (like Sephiroth from Final Fantasy 7, but that's an extreme comparison).


The slight detail to note is that the music for the main menu is slightly different in the safe version than the full version, which adds a nice touch for those who are less into the slight gore and such. Not one I'd keep on loop, but still sweet.

One I would (and funnily did while writing this) was the audio that plays during the downtimes before the serious scenes. It's mellow, it's soothing and it just gets me into a nice place before knives and scares are involved.


As for the visual... I'm always impressed by the visuals. Even with their first game I played by them (Again, I'll talk about another time) I was just amazed by the artwork and sprites used. Plus, I love the shade of purples used for the characters, giving off an effect that can be both regal and unobtainable, while being comforting and mesmerising at the same time.



The slideshow shows some of the art from the itch.io page (if I'm not allowed to use these for the review, please let me know and I'll take them down immediately). You can see how detailed the descriptions and the overall feel of these characters are just from even before you look in the game.


Colour palettes work well to add more mystery, as well as more hopes for future games too. It's their signature design scheme at this point, black, white and purple. There's no denying that it looks honestly amazing.



Two more things to point out about this.


One is the attention to detail with these custom text boxes! I had to play through the safe mode just to confirm that the colour scheme for the majority of the assets on here flip colour scheme when it gets to a more intense scene. A clever touch that does add to the overall feel of the moment. It helps to gauge what Cator/ia is feeling at the time.


The second thing I'd wanna point out is the menu screen when picking your interest. The clever use of the term "pick your poison" alongside faded background. The characters in their game sprites, which are ironically fashioned after clerics adds more to this than I'd first imagine.


It's a clever setup that adds more for when you start the game.


Overall opinion


I have to say, I enjoyed this a lot. As I've already said I like the yandere trope in games like this, if done well. This is definitely one that's been done very well, to the point that it's not overbearing or "in your face" crazy. Simply a casual amount of lovestruck mixed with psycho.


From start to end, I enjoyed everything. Although there's a few bugs here and there, it's to be expected and didn't take away from the overall playthrough. While I won't say the replay ability is endless, I will say that giving it time and going back to it, you'll be wanting to read it through and listen over and over again.


If you're interested, please check Melancholy Marionette out and their other games as they're honestly amazing (and I will review more in the future)


-R (16/1/2021)

167 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page