top of page

The Newsweek that hasn't stopped (yet)

So I said last week my plan to fill the Newsweek. I'd write my article, get that looked over, and write a film review. The simple life, surely?


I wasn't expecting my article to be taken so well.


So, to fill in the blanks, I get an email from a lovely Masters student (We'll call her S). S says that she's heard about my article and tells me it's apparently at the heart of our university magazine. Instead of taking my time to finish and send it on Wednesday, I manage to finish, edit and send it off with images all by the end of Tuesday (because it was needed to help for layouts and whatnot). I thought it'd be a thank you and then that's the end of it.


...Would I really be writing this if it was the end?


S emails me a few days later to thank me again and to ask for a request on behalf of the editorial team. She asks if I'd be interested in doing an interview about young carers with someone who happens to be an expert on the subject. A masters student, asking a first year to do a big job. With this interview, I'd be writing an article to be posted.


I'm an awkward person (this blog proves it), but I'm an awkward person who'll try new things.


Within 2 hours of getting it (because I wasn't looking at my emails due to *ahem* personal reasons) I message back saying yes. I will have to admit, the networking S does is phenomenal. So formal, straight to the point, extremely polite. I have a lot to learn. I still need to learn the art of filling an email to a substantial level, let alone how to be as persuasive as her.


So the Tuesday comes, and I am panicking! Not as in "I'm breaking down" sort of panic, but more like "this is new and I only have one shot" sort of thing. It's an odd feeling, but it generally goes away 10 minutes before you start, and two minutes before you even say hello. I always seem to get it for situations I'm not 100% with, but it at least gives you an adrenaline boost.


As it's Covid, this was all on call, but overall it was actually not as bad as I hyped it up to be. The lady I interviewed (calling her J) was absolutely lovely! J and I had just a general educational chat about all things caring wise, and I managed to get down notes ready to write an article on it (because of course, you don't escape that easily). It's a part of life you have to go through at least once to see how you enjoy it. I would explain more in detail, but honestly there wasn't much to say about it. We called, I asked my list of questions, we went our separate ways and I had a lesson an hour afterwards.


So this is what a Journalism degree in Covid is like... 6/10 so far, need more time at the actual university.


-R(17/03/21)


(Oh yeah, Caravan Palace's new music video came out today! Go watch that on Youtube (Not sponsored, just really like them) )

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

First Year Reflection + Unexpected Absences

So... where do I even begin with this? The first point of call is a very big sorry to all of you for not posting for a good while. There is a very big reason for it, and I will explain it a bit better

Overtime Magazine - A mini time to shine

Well, although this entire website is basically self-promo, allow me to promote something I'm genuinely proud of. https://online.fliphtml5.com/ktywv/xymd/#p=5 This link, this one right here has not on

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page