top of page

New Walkthrough project - My Lovely Daughter

Easter holidays have come around after a year of Covid. The good news is we can meet up outside with up to six people from different households. However, the bad news is that I still can't get back to uni. A simple solution to pass the time is to work, do my other duties, and play a nice, seasonal game.


My Lovely Daughter is completely the opposite of this.



is completely the opposite of this


A game that's perfect for an October marathon rather than a sunny March day, My Lovely Father takes your heart and makes you regret almost every action you'll ever do in-game. As someone who plays more games that allow you to spare as much as possible, or know that they're not dead once destroyed, this took me to a new level of guilt.


An overview for you:


This takes place in 1146 where you play as Faust, an alchemist who has lost his memories after being asleep for a period of time. He looks around his room and discovers his daughter, lifeless like a doll in bed. Her soul is kept in a furnace and he realises he needs to infuse her soul back into her with the right essence in order to bring her back.


The solution? Dark magic and creatures called homonculus (I have no idea how to pronounce this correctly).


The homonculi are creatures made up of natural resources through rituals. They can work to earn money... or be sacrificed for resources and soul essence. Depending on their emotion will give you different essence.


The goal of this is to get the right balance in order to bring her back. It sounds easier than it looks, but from playing it I can at least say that's not the case. It's a lot of combination work, and you can't just keep combining and stocking up. There's limited room to store your homonculi (which you can increase, though not by much), as well as the fact you need to keep them happy.




You get to do such sweet things, like play hide and seek, or have a tea time with your new homonculi daughters (as that's how they're treated). Every daughter will behave slightly differently... and it hurts even more when you have to sacrifice them for both resources and essence.


The game creators did too good of a job on this as every daughter (and I mean every daughter) has their own unique dialogue when sacrificed. It also doesn't help that have to name them!! I didn't know if it was optional or not to kill them, so I named my first girl very sincerely. I was only two minutes in before they told me "right, time to kill her", to which I felt like crying (but couldn't, as I've been recording it). I'm one of those people who gets too easily attached to fictional characters, so having to hurt them on purpose isn't something I usually do.


"So, why keep playing?" you might ask.


Well, I decided to give myself a project, on top of my coursework (I will get that work done too, I'm just splitting my time up and trying something new).


Once I get my first ending on my current blind playthrough, I will be releasing those videos onto Youtube in a playlist to watch. It might be useful, it might not be. After this, however, I will be doing more focus based on 100%ing the game and release guides out for it too.


This will mean any achievements, any hidden dialogue, how to unlock and get certain characters, etc, all of these will be made into posts on here for the next few posts. While the game is a few years old, there's not too many guides that are out there, so being able to split between everything in two separate formats would be useful to see.


I will also be doing a video version too, for those who prefer to visualise rather than read. Those will be linked into the posts as I do them (so the post might come out before the video).



Hopefully, this might help someone out. Until then, enjoy Easter and stay safe


-R(30/03/2021)

(RIP to all the homonculi I had to name, you will be missed)

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Lovely Daughter - Homonculus + Gift guide

Struggling to keep up with what homonculus you need? Well today's your lucky day! This guide will list what combinations you can get, as well as bracket them into the set emotions. Alongside this, I w

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page